Juvenile Law Center


Since our inception in 1975, Juvenile Law Center has been consistently recognized for our efforts in protecting children's rights and interests in the foster care and justice system.

Most notably, in 2008, Juvenile Law Center was awarded the internationally renowned MacArthur Award for Creative and Effective Institutions, and was described by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation as being a "model for other legal child advocacy groups across the nation."

We continue to receive numerous awards—including the Harrisburg Patriot-News "Best of 2009" Award and the Philadelphia Inquirer's 2009 "Citizens of the Year" Award—for our recent work in uncovering the egregious "kids-for-cash" juvenile justice scandal in Luzerne County.

List of Awards, 2008-2013

Child Advocate of the Year, Pennsylvania Bar Association Children's Rights Committee (2014): Jennifer Pokempner

Arlen Specter Award, The Legal Intelligencer (2013): Marsha Levick

Webby Award for Best "Law" Website, International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (2013): Juvenile Law Center

Gloria J. Jenkins Award for Outstanding Contributions to Juvenile Justice Reform, Annie E. Casey Foundation Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative (2013): Juvenile Law Center

Thurgood Marshall Award, Philadelphia Bar Association, Criminal Justice Section (2011): Robert Schwartz and Marsha Levick

Leonard E. Weinglass in Defense of Civil Liberties Award, American Association for Justice (2010): Marsha Levick

Shepherds of Peace Award, Good Shepherd Mediation Society (2010): Marsha Levick

Women of Distinction Award, The Legal Intelligencer (2010): Marsha Levick, Lourdes Rosado

Livingston Hall Award, American Bar Association (2010): Marsha Levick

Champion of Social Justice Award, Rutgers Law School, Camden (2010): Marsha Levick

A.L. Carlisle Child Advocacy Award, Coalition for Juvenile Justice (2010): Robert Schwartz

Clifford Scott Green Bill of Rights Award, Federal Bar Association, Philadelphia Chapter, Criminal Law Section (2009): Robert Schwartz, Marsha Levick, Lourdes Rosado

Paul H. Chapman Award, Foundation for Improvement of Justice (2009): Marsha Levick

Citizens of the Year Award, Philadelphia Inquirer (2009): Marsha Levick, Lourdes Rosado

David Frey Community Service for Peace Award, Peace and Justice Center (2009): Juvenile Law Center

Impact Award, National GAINS Center (2009): Lourdes Rosado

Andrew Hamilton Award, Philadelphia Bar Association (2009): Marsha Levick

Meritorious Service Award, Pennsylvania Prison Society (2009): Marsha Levick

Best of 2009, Harrisburg Patriot-News (2009): Juvenile Law Center

Liberty Award, Pennsylvania Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (2008): Juvenile Law Center

Child Advocate of the Year Award, Pennsylvania Bar Association (2008): Marsha Levick

Creative and Effective Institutions Award, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation (2008): Juvenile Law Center

List of Awards, Pre-2008

Professional Achievement Award, Temple Law School Women's Law Caucus (2006): Marsha Levick

Stephen M. Cahn Award for Career Achievement, National Association of Counsel for Children (2004): Robert Schwartz

Child Advocate of the Year Award, Pennsylvania Bar Association (2001): Robert Schwartz

Livingston Hall Award, American Bar Association (2001): Robert Schwartz

Andrew Hamilton Award, Philadelphia Bar Association (1996): Robert Schwartz

Reginald Heber Smith Award, National Legal Aid and Defender Association (1994): Robert Schwartz

Children & Youth Advocates Award, Philadelphia County Child Welfare Advisory Board (1988): Juvenile Law Center

Haverford Award for Service to Society, Haverford College (1978): Robert Schwartz

Support Juvenile Law Center

One of the most important lessons from our 40 years of experience is that children involved with the justice and foster care systems need zealous legal advocates. Your support for our work is more important now than ever before. Support